History of the Building
The Old Bampton Grammar School was built by Robert Vesey (d.1635), a wealthy local merchant living in Chimney, now a nearby village. At that time, Bampton was the largest town in the area and it badly needed a school for the children of the increasing large merchant class.
The Grammar School building continued to be used as a village meeting place and for a range of other village functions. The library moved arrived in 1964 and the Girl Guides, the Brownies and the Scouts had their meetings on the upper floor. There are still some (quite old!) people in the village who remember these gatherings.
The restoration is expected to be complete by the summer of 2017. One of the aims of the restoration of the Old Grammar School is to give the the Bampton Community Archive a permanent home – where visitors can visit and access the database catalogue; browse the collection of historic local history books; and see the current exhibition.